Attribution: unknown (The ruin of Free Church in Jamestown)
Welcome to Strathpeffer
Strathpeffer stands in a beautiful setting at the head of the Peffery Valley, 200 ft. above sea-level and guarded to the North by the massive bulk of Ben Wyvis. Strathpeffer is a unique place in that it is the only remaining Scottish Spa. The benefits of its waters were first recognised during the latter half of the 18th. century, although the first Pump Room was not built until 1819. In 1861 a larger Pump Room was built , but this has now been demolished. That site is now occupied by The Tasting Pavilion and Tourist Office. The waters contain Sulphur and Chalybeate (Iron) but only the Sulphur Wells are available at present.
The outstanding Victorian Architecture of the village owed much to the development of the Spa, as does the presence of some outstandingly beautiful trees. The village has several small but interesting shops, most clustered around the Square. The old Railway Station has been converted and now houses the Highland Museum of Childhood, a wood-carver’s workshop and some craft shops.
Several walks exist around the village, giving beautiful views of the surrounding countryside. For the energetic, there is also a splendid 18 hole Golf Course. The population of Strathpeffer is in the region of 1200. A large percentage of its inhabitants are retired. Those employed are involved in Tourism, Forestry, Farming and crofting, with quite a number commuting daily, either to Dingwall or Inverness. The village boasts two vey large hotels (over 100 bedrooms each), several hotels and guest houses, Bed and Breakfast accommodation and self-catering establishments.
Strathpeffer is a good centre from which to explore and visit places of interest, including Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Dunrobin Castle and Gardens, Culloden Battle Field, John O’Groats, Skye, Inverewe Gardens with many other diverse and interesting places within easy reach. Hill-walking, sailing, horse riding, tennis and golf can all be sampled without travelling far.